Detroit Tigers

Share This

Electronic Commerce

Detroit Tigers

This is the most complete record book ever written about the Detroit Tigers, simply because it is the only one which includes every season and career record created by every player in Tiger history from their first year of play (1901) to present.

Unlike typical record books, which eliminate old records when new ones are established, this book never eliminates a record, simply adds each new mark to existing chronology lists. In this way, baseball history is preserved and no player or their records will ever be forgotten.

Never before have records been placed in chronological order. This is done in every category in batting, pitching, and fielding. Also included are rookie and manager records.

Placing records in chronological order makes them easy to count, so now for the first time we learn which players have the most records. This never-before-seen information is placed near the end of each chapter and posted on a newly developed “Record Holders List.” Did you know that Ty Cobb has 86 club records?

Another new feature is the creation of individual players “Record Profiles.” The club’s greatest record producers are profiled and honored at the end of each chapter. These profiles include every record a player has established, how long each lasted before broken, and includes the names of every player who has broken their record.

Yet another new feature is the newly developed individual players’ “Claims to Fame Profiles.” In addition to listing every record a player has created, this profile also includes every feat which has made a player famous such as getting 3000 hits, 500 home runs, winning 300 games, pitching no-hitters, winning batting, pitching, and fielding titles, winning awards such as the MVP, Gold Glove, Triple Crown, Rookie of the Year, Cy Young, being selected to the All-Star team and voted into the Hall of Fame. Did you know that Ty Cobb has 252 claims to fame? This book lists every one of them.

This book is not merely a record book, but rather a history of records presented in chronological order. To best understand the chronology listings, the season home runs record will be used as an example.


Ducky Holmes
Jimmy Barrett
Jimmy Barrett
Sam Crawford
Sam Crawford
Sam Crawford
Ty Cobb
Sam Crawford
Bobby Veach
Harry Heilmann
Harry Heilmann
Dale Alexander
Hank Greenberg
Hank Greenberg
Hank Greenberg
Hank Greenberg


This chronology list reveals the entire history of the season home runs record from the first home run champions in 1901 to the present record holder, Hank Greenberg, in 1938. The chronology shows that Ducky Holmes and Jimmy Barrett shared the home run title after the club’s first year of play. It also reveals that Jimmy Barrett was the first two-time record holders and that Sam Crawford broke his record in 1905, and then broke his own mark in 1908 as he became the first three-time record breaker.

Ty Cobb became the new home run champion in 1909, only to have his record tied by Sam Crawford in 1913.
Crawford’s new mark stood for seven years before Bobby Veach became the new record holder in 1920. Hall of Famer, Harry Heilmann, took over in 1921 when he blasted 19 round trippers and then broke his own record the following year.

Dales Alexander excited the baseball world in 1929 when he slammed 25 home runs as a rookie and became the club’s new home run champion. His fine achievement would not be topped for five years when Hank Greenberg exploded onto the scene with 26 four baggers in 1934. From there it was all Greenberg’s. He broke his own record three more times, becoming the club’s only slugger to establish four records in this prestigious category.

Greenberg saved the best for last when he chased Babe Ruth’s record of 60 home runs and excited the baseball world in 1938, hitting 58 home runs, just two shy of the Babe’s record.

This is the history of the club’s home run record. Nothing could be more complete. It is easy to understand and includes every record and every player who has produced the records. We see how long each record lasted before broken and who broke the record. The entire book is written in this format in every category of batting, pitching, and fielding.

Now, for the first time, everything you ever wanted to know about Tiger records are at your fingertips. Now you can become a historian of Tiger baseball records.


The Detroit Tigers have one of the richest traditions in baseball history. For years they have thrilled their fans with the great play of superstars such as: Ty Cobb, Hank Greenberg, Al Kaline, Harry Heilmann, Sam Crawford, Charlie Gehringer, Mickey Cochrane, Goose Goslin, Earl Averill, Al Simmons, Heinie Manush, Hal Newhouser, and George Kell.

They were charter members of the newly formed American League in 1901 and thrilled their fans by winning three consecutive pennants from 1907 to 1909. That team was managed by Hall of Famer Hugh Jennings, who took full advantage of super stars Ty Cobb and Sam Crawford. They were led by the sensational pitching of George Mullin, Ed Willett, Wild Bill Donovan, Ed Summers, and Ed Killian, all of whom were 20 game winners.

After this marvelous run, the club would fall on hard times until 1934, when Hall of Famer Mickey Cochrane became manager. Cochrane had completed nine years with the Athletics, playing under the great Connie Mack. He learned well from the “Tall Tactician,” as Mack was called. Cochrane promply won two pennants and led the Tigers to their first World Championship in 1935.

Cochrane’s feat was extraordinary because he was not only the manager but still in his playing days and excelled in his dual role as player-manager. In his two pennant-winning years, he batted .320 and .319, marking the eight times he batted over .300. When he retired he had a batting average of .320, the highest of any catcher in baseball history.

The next pennant was won by Del Baker in 1940, and Steve O’Neill would win the pennant and World Series in 1945. But 23 years would go by before Detroit won another pennant and World Series. This was accomplished by Mayo Smith.

The Tigers were always competitive, but did not win another pennant and World Series until they were led by Sparky Anderson in 1984.

During the years, the Tigers have had many outstanding managers. The first was Hugh Jennings, who won three consecutive pennants. Ty Cobb tried his hand from 1921 to 1926 and has the distinction of having the highest batting average by a player-manager in baseball history. He batted .401 in 1922 and while still managing, had batting averages of .389, .340, .338, .378, and .339. However, Cobb received little support from his mates and did not win a pennant.

Other fine managers included Billy Martin, Ralph Houk, Red Rolfe, Jimmy Dykes, Chuck Dressen, Fred Hutchinson and Bucky Harris.